Macdonald Memorial Award List of Recipients found here

Click here to download nomination form


The Macdonald Memorial Award was established in June 1954 in memory of the founder of the NZMAA Mr Fred Macdonald,  The design of the trophy was to be worthy of the founder of the NZMAA and the criteria for selection of recipients was to reflect the outstanding contribution that Fred Macdonald gave to New Zealand Model Aeronautics. 

This award is considered to be the most prestigious award that can be bestowed on a person for the most outstanding contribution in any sphere to New Zealand Model Aeronautics.

On the 17th June 1954 the NZMAA Council approved the Macdonald Memorial Trust to administer the Macdonald Memorial Award.  The Trustees are made up of a representative from the Macdonald family, the Secretary of the NZMAA and other persons drawn from the NZMAA membership who have an active involvement in the area of Model Aeronautics, are of good standing within the aeronautical fraternity and have served on NZMAA Council or member clubs committees.

To date the award has been presented to twenty seven recipients the first being in 1954 to Mr Les Wright for his contribution in the field of Radio Control for model aircraft.

For further information or advice contact:

The Secretary
Macdonald Memorial Trust


The Secretary
Model Flying New Zealand

Rules Governing Nominations for the Award

1. Applications in writing, will only be considered from groups that is; Macdonald Award Trustees, MFNZ Council, MFNZ affiliated Club Committees, and Special Interest Groups (SIG) of the MFNZ.

2. Nominations for the award are considered yearly. Applications may be received at any time during the calendar year but no later than the 1st of October of that calendar year. There is no limit to the number of applications any group may submit.

3. All applicants must have made an outstanding contribution toward Model Aeronautics in New Zealand that has been willingly given for no personal gain whatsoever. Advancements or outstanding achievements in any sphere of model aeronautics can be considered for example: - records (World or NZ), International wins, administrative work, technical and design developments and furthering aeromodelling in New Zealand.

4. Nominations in writing on the official nomination form are be addressed in the first instance to the MFNZ Secretary and include a summary of the reasons for nomination and any supportive documents/information to support the application. Nominations are to be approved by the Council of the MFNZ and forwarded to the Secretary of the Macdonald Memorial Trust not later than the 1st of November for consideration and approval/rejection by the Trustees. The Trustees shall advise the MFNZ of their decision not later than the 1st December.

5. The Trustees reserve the right to withhold the award in any one year should no nominations of sufficient merit be received.

6. The Trophy must be presented no later than Easter of the year following approval of the nomination and preferably at as large a gathering of modellers as possible, for example the National Aeromodelling Championships.

Macdonald Memorial Award List of Recipients found here

Back to top